Stay Connected

Thread: Trach Plug

Trach Plug

Hi Everyone,
    Yesterday at my doctors appointment, my doctor told me that our son does not even have enough lung tissue really to even do an LHR. He has CDH on the left side, but the doc seemed to think there is not too much diaphragm there. He thinks we may be candidates for the trach plug. I know it is experimental and relatively new. Most of the research I am finding says there is no real positive or negative effect, that it just is. The doc is saying the best surgeon is in England, also another in SF. I was hoping that maybe someone else had decided to have the trach plug, and would share their story with me. I am pretty new to CHERUBS and have not figured out how to navigate through all of the great resources. I am waiting to hear if my insurance company will even pay for the surgery, and I am also trying to research and weigh the risks. I would appricate anyone's time. Thank you so much.
    Tiffany- mother to Samantha 5-30-2006 and Jonathan LCDH diagnosed at 12 weeks- due 09-13-2009. Loving wife to Gregory- US Army WO1.

Tiffany-
    I briefly researched the trach plug when my daughter was diagnosed. I remember reading one blog where it did seem to help expand the lungs, however, I can't remember the website. I will post it if I find it again. My daughter was not really a candidate for it so I didn't research it too in depth. My daughter was treated successfully by Dr. Kays in