Stay Connected

Thread: Allen, Gauge Michael

Allen, Gauge Michael

I'm going to try to start from the beginning. In December of 2004 I met Michael. We started dating and we are still together. He was 23 and I was 17. I turned 18 in January. In May of 2005 I graduated High School and found out I was pregnant 3 days later.

I never realized how scary it would be to have a real baby inside of you...or how scary it would be to tell my parents....or for the small town of rumors to find out. I had been on birth control since I was 17. I stopped taking it in February of 2005 just because I forgot to go get it. By April I had never gotten pregnant so I didn't think it was going to happen. The end of May, my third month without birth control, I got pregnant.

I had my first doctor's appointment in Evansville, IN with a Welborn doctor. I was eight weeks pregnant and weighed 110 lbs. I went back to the doctor at 12 weeks and got to hear the baby's heartbeat. At 16 weeks I weighed 125 lbs. and got to have my first ultrasound. A boy. That's when I found out that horrible things can actually happen.

When my doctor tried to explain CDH I was totally confused. I didn't understand anything at all. I knew what the diaphragm was, and I new where they were supposed to be. I just didn't know how there could be a hole in my baby's diaphragm. I didn't know what to do or how I was going to explain this to everyone. A lot of people still don't believe that this sort of thing can just happen with no cause. I still don't know if I believe it. I know that during my pregnancy I didn't do anything to harm my baby. I was exposed to nicotine but I didn't use it myself.